Madeleine Mitchell (violin) & Stefan Stroissnig (piano)

Ticket quantity

You can book a maximum of two tickets per event. If you require more tickets or would like to make a group booking, please contact


Madeleine Mitchell (violin) & Stefan Stroissnig (piano)

  • Thu 27 Feb 2014
  • 7:00PM
Imported 1927
Imported 1927

Austrian Cultural Forum London

28 Rutland GateLondon SW7 1PQ


T 020 7225 7300

F 020 7225 7300


This special concert brings together two enormously talented musicians from the UK and Austria. Madeleine Mitchell ‘is one of Britain’s liveliest musical forces and foremost violinists’ (The Times). Viennese pianist Stefan Stroissnig has been performing since the age of eleven as both chamber musician and soloist with orchestras, including the Vienna Chamber Orchestra. They will perform a programme of music by Austrian composers, including pieces by Franz Schubert, Friedrich Cerha, Arnold Schönberg’s classic Phantasy, and Madeleine’s own arrangement of Alban Berg’s Die Nachtigall.

Franz Schubert - Sonatine no.1 in D

Arnold Schoenberg - Phantasie op.47

Friedrich Cerha - Zwei Stücke - Meditation und Altes Lied

Alban Berg - Die Nachtigall (arranged by Madeleine Mitchell)

Schubert - Ave Maria (arranged by Johannes Palashko)

James MacMillan (b.1959) - Kiss on Wood (composed for Madeleine Mitchell, 1994)

Joseph Horovitz - Dybbuk Melody (solo violin)