Prom 20: Schubert, Luke Bedford & Bruckner

Ticket quantity

You can book a maximum of two tickets per event. If you require more tickets or would like to make a group booking, please contact


Prom 20: Schubert, Luke Bedford & Bruckner

  • Sat 1 Aug 2015
  • 6:30PM
Luke Bedford © ROH 2014
Luke Bedford © ROH 2014

Royal Albert Hall

Kensington GoreLondon SW7 2AP


T 0845 401 5045

Although composed for the church, it is in the concert hall that the dramatic scale of Bruckner’s mighty Mass in F minor comes into its own. A new commission from former Soundings composer Luke Bedford puts the Royal Albert Hall’s great organ in the spotlight, while opening the concert is Schubert’s ‘Tragic’ Symphony – a work whose heart-on-sleeve emotions are those of a composer still in his teens.

Symphony No. 4 in C minor 'Tragic', D 417 (29 mins)

Luke Bedford
Instability BBC commission: world premiere (25 mins)

Mass No. 3 in F minor (59 mins)

Luba Orgonášová soprano
Jennifer Johnston mezzo-soprano
Robert Dean Smith tenor
Derek Welton bass-baritone, Proms debut artist
Orfeón Pamplonés
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena conductor