Spectrum of Sound

Ticket quantity

You can book a maximum of two tickets per event. If you require more tickets or would like to make a group booking, please contact info@acflondon.org


Spectrum of Sound – featuring Georg Friedrich Haas

  • 27 Feb 2015 — 28 Mar 2015
Imported 2098
Imported 2098

Southbank Centre

Belvedere RoadLondon SE1 8XX



The London Sinfonietta presents a two-part series entitled Spectrum of Sound which explores the extraordinary advances in sonic manipulation over recent years, from the maverick pioneers of the second half of the 20th century to spectral music of the 21st. Using quarter-tones to destabilise harmony and pulsing rhythms to obscure a sense of meter, yesterday's composers opened up the possibilities for new directions in tuning and texture, a baton now passed to the mixed-media, computer-led, electronic composers of today.

Both concerts feature UK premieres by renowned Austrian composer Georg Friedrich Haas.

Part I

Iannis Xenakis: Aroura for 12 string instruments
Claude Vivier: Zipangu for strings
Georg Friedrich Haas: Open spaces for 12 string instruments & 2 percussion (UK premiere)
Mica Levi: New work for LS 27 Feb 2015, 7.45pm (PUR) (World premiere)

Part II

Giacinto Scelsi: Kya for solo clarinet and ensemble
György Ligeti: Chamber Concerto
Tristan Murail: La chambre des cartes
Georg Friedrich Haas: Ich suchte, aber ich fand ihn nicht (UK premiere)